Ganesh Chathurthi is celebrated as the birthday of Lord Ganesha – The Remover of obstacles. It is celebrated on Shukla Chathurthi (4th waxing moon) in the vedic month of Bhadrapada. This year it falls on August 30/31 — based on where you live.

For local timings download the align27 app.

For personalized Ganesh Chathurthi rituals based on your birth chart download the align27 app.

Ganesh Chathurthi Rituals

  1. Chant the Ganesha Atharvasirsha if you know it, if not you can close your eyes and listen to it.
  2. Chant your personalized Ganesha mantra based on the placement of Ketu in your birth chart. If you do not know it, then chant the generic mantra – Aum Gam Ganapataye Namah.
  3. You can make a Turmeric Ganesha. See details below.
  4. Worship Lord Ganesha with the Lam Bija Mantra. You can keep chanting “Lam” as many times as possible. You can also meditate on your Muladhara Chakra (base of the spine) while doing so.
  5. You can do the simple 5 step pooja for Lord Ganesha. It helps you offer all the 5 elements connected to the 9 planets. See below for more information.
  6. If you have Ketu in conjunction with another planet in your Navamsha chart, then you can honor the deities connected to those planets.
  7. Did you know that based on where Ketu is placed in your chart, you can worship either a standing, sitting, dancing or resting Ganesha.
  8. You can chant the 16 names of Ganesha today (it can also be done everyday before you start your day). See below for the 16 mantras.

Turmeric Ganesha – Ketu Ritual

Ketu is currently transiting in Vishakha Nakshatra.

One of the best remedies is to make Ganesha out of turmeric and pray by offering sweets. Vishakha is ruled by Jupiter (Turmeric) and Lord Ganesha is the deity of Ketu.

There is a form of Ganesha connected to every Nakshatra. For Vishakha it is Haridra Ganapati. Haridra also means turmeric.


Before you start making. Place the turmeric in a big plate or a tray and write your wishes on it. Then pour water (exalt the Jupiter) and make a paste and start making the Ganesha.

You can then dissolve the Turmeric Ganesha after a few days and pour that water to the plants.

Simple 5 Step Pooja or Offering to Lord Ganesha

  1. Light a Lamp for Lord Ganesha to honor the Fire element (Agni tattva) which is connected to the planets Sun, Mars and Ketu.
  2. Offer an Incense stick or dhoop for Lord Ganesha to honor the Air element (Vayu tattva) which is connected to the planets Saturn and Rahu.
  3. Offer water and modaks (a sweet dish that Ganesha likes) to honor the Water element which is connected to the planets Moon and Venus.
  4. Offer flowers to honor the Space element (Akash tattva) which is connected to the planet Jupiter.
  5. Offer Sandalwood paste to Lord Ganesha to honor the Earth element (Prithvi tattva) which is connected to the planet Mercury.

16 Powerful Ganesha Mantras that you can chant every day!

  1. Om Sumukhāya namaḥ
  2. Om ēkadantāya namaḥ
  3. Om kapilāya namaḥ
  4. Om gajakarṇakāya namaḥ
  5. Om lambōdarāya namaḥ
  6. Om vikaṭāya namaḥ
  7. Om vighnarājāya namaḥ
  8. Om gaṇādhipāya namaḥ
  9. Om dhūmrakētavē namaḥ
  10. Om gaṇādhyakṣāya namaḥ
  11. Om phālacandrāya namaḥ
  12. Om gajānanāya namaḥ
  13. Om vakratuṇḍāya namaḥ
  14. Om śūrpakarṇāya namaḥ
  15. Om hērambāya namaḥ
  16. Om skandapūrvajāya namaḥ

Here are some interesting articles about Lord Ganesha that you can read on the Cosmic Insights Blog!

Pray to the 8 forms of Ganesha to free yourself from 8 inner demons

In Mugdala Purana Lord Ganesha is said to take 8 different forms to destroy 8 inner demons (negative tendencies).

You can read the entire article here.

An Ancient Technique to remove obstacles in life!

Lord Ganesha is the remover of obstacles and he is invoked during any auspicious beginnings.
There is a technique you can learn that will help you overcome obstacles in life with the blessings of Lord Ganesha.

You can read the entire article here.

Remedy your 6th House by Overcoming the 6 internal enemies

The 6th House in our horoscope is a very important house for Soul level progress. The 6th house is the house of Shadripus or six enemies.

They are desire, kama (lust), krodha (anger), lobha (greed), moha (delusion), mada (pride) and matsarya (jealousy). And each is associated with a planet.

You can read the entire article here.