What is Gandanta?

Gandanta is a concept in Vedic astrology that refers to specific points in the zodiac where there’s a transition between two astrological signs. Imagine it like a border area between two different territories, but in this case, it’s between two signs of the zodiac.

These gandanta points occur at the end of a water sign (Cancer, Scorpio, Pisces) and the beginning of a fire sign (Aries, Leo, Sagittarius) or vice versa. These points are considered significant because they symbolize a shift from one element to another, from water to fire or fire to water. This shift is thought to bring about changes, challenges, and sometimes even opportunities in a person’s life.

Rahu in Gandanta – Timings

On October 30, 2023, Rahu is set to make a significant transit from Aries to Pisces. During this astrological shift, Rahu will pass through the Gandanta zone for a few days both before and after the mega transit.

New York, USA
28th Aug 2023, 09:29 am to 1st Jan, 2024 04:48 am

For local timings download the Cosmic Insights app.

Rahu in Gandanta – Insights

Aries is known for its assertiveness, ambition, and boldness. It’s a sign of initiation and new beginnings. As Rahu transits through the early degrees of Aries (rahu moves in the reverse direction), we may experience a surge of energy and a desire to assert ourselves more vigorously. This period can be marked by intense ambitions and a strong drive to achieve our goals.

Pisces is a water sign known for its deep emotions, intuition, and spiritual sensitivity. This transition from the fiery Aries to the watery Pisces represents a significant shift in energy. It’s as if the burning desires of Aries are doused by the waters of Pisces, leading to a period of introspection and heightened emotional sensitivity.

The journey of Rahu through the Gandanta zone from Aries to Pisces is a passage from the known to the unknown, from the fiery to the watery, and from the material to the spiritual. It challenges us to let go of our ego-driven desires and embrace the mysteries of the subconscious and the spiritual aspects.

Rahu in Gandanta – Predictions based on Moon/Ascendant Signs

Use the align27 app for detailed in-depth predictions and insights.


Rahu’s transition from the 1st to the 12th house signifies a journey from self-discovery and assertiveness to spiritual exploration and detachment.


Rahu’s transition from the 12th to the 11th house signifies a shift from introspection and solitude to active participation in social and group activities.


Rahu’s transition from the 11th to the 10th house signifies a shift from aspirations and networking (11th house) to a strong focus on career and public recognition (10th house)


Rahu’s transition from the 10th to the 9th house signifies a shift from a focus on career and public life to a quest for higher knowledge, spirituality, and cultural exploration.


Rahu’s transition from the 9th to the 8th house signifies a shift from seeking knowledge and exploration to deep transformation and a quest for the hidden truths of life.


Rahu’s transition from the 8th to the 7th house signifies a shift from deep transformation and exploration to a focus on relationships, partnerships, and social connections.


Rahu’s transition from the 7th to the 6th house signifies a shift from relationship-oriented concerns to matters related to health, service, and career ambitions.


Rahu’s transition from the 6th to the 5th house signifies a shift from a focus on service and daily routines to a more creative and romantic phase of life.


Rahu’s transition from the 5th to the 4th house signifies a shift from a focus on creativity and self-expression to matters related to home, family, and emotional security.


Rahu’s transition from the 4th to the 3rd house signifies a shift from a focus on home and family to matters related to communication, learning, and networking.


Rahu’s transition from the 3rd to the 2nd house signifies a shift from a focus on communication and learning to matters related to finances, wealth accumulation, and personal values.


Rahu’s transition from the 2nd to the 1st house signifies a shift from financial concerns and personal values to matters related to self-identity, self-expression, and personal growth.

Order a personalized transit report that will be written by our in-house astrologers. Your report will be meticulously prepared, analyzing your complete birth chart to deliver the most valuable insights tailored specifically to you.

Rahu in Gandanta – Remedies

  1. During Rahu’s presence in Aries, which falls in the Gandanta period from August 28th 2023 to October 30th 2023, chant the mantra “Kshipa om svaha.
  2. When Rahu transitions into Pisces, part of the Gandanta period from October 30th 2023 to January 1st 2024, chant the mantra “Pakshirajaya Namah“.
  3. Recite the 12-syllable Vishnu Mantra, “Om Namo Bhagavate Vasudevaya,” or listen to the Vishnu Sahasranama during the auspicious Abhijit Muhurta. Utilize the align27 app for daily timings of Abhijit Muhurta.
  4. Surprise others with acts of goodwill and donations. Rahu is known to bring sudden and unexpected situations into life. You can positively surprise individuals, such as tipping generously ($20, for instance), to those working in service roles, like restroom attendants at airports. Such gestures are considered powerful remedies for countering Rahu’s effects.
  5. Worship Goddess Durga using the mantra “Aum Dum Durgaye Namah.” You can also recite the Durga Suktam. Goddess Durga is the deity associated with Rahu.

For personalized remedies tailored to your unique astrological profile, download the align27 app.