What is that your soul desires? – This is revealed by the Atmakaraka planet!

What is Atmakaraka or Soul Planet?

Atma means the soul and karaka means significator. Atmakaraka is the significator of the soul’s desire. According to the Vedic philosophy a soul is reborn because it has unfinished desires that were left unfulfilled in the previous lives and it is born again to get another opportunity to satisfy them. What are these desires? Will they be fulfilled or will you struggle with them? This is revealed by the Atmakaraka planet.

How is Atmakaraka calculated?

One of eight planets (Sun, Moon, Mars,Mercury, Jupiter, Saturn and Rahu) can be your Atmakaraka depending on its degrees in the natal chart. The planet that has the highest degree, ignoring the signs, is considered the chara Atmakaraka. Some astrologers use the 7 karaka scheme were Rahu is excluded.

Please click the link below to quickly find your soul planet or Atmakaraka


How do you evaluate your Atmakaraka?

You need to check the following

  1. House where AK is placed and the sign in birth chart and all divisional charts.
  2. Benefic and malefic aspects to AK
  3. Aspects and conjunction of AK with other planets.
  4. Reading the chart with AK as ascendant will give you a lot of clues
  5. The dasha and bhukti’s of the AK will be very significant
  6. Connection between AK and lagna lord in your birth chart and D9 chart.
  7. Is your AK retrograde?
  8. The Nakshatra of your AK and it’s characteristics and qualities


There are so many things you can uncover once you find out your Atmakaraka

The position of your atmakaraka planet in your D9 (Navamsha chart) becomes very important and it is called as “Karakamsha”.

The 9th house from Karakamsha would show about your spiritual progress.

Planets in the 5th house from Karakamsha would show you about your inherent talents and life path.

There is a popular technique used by K.N. Rao which is to use the Karakamsha sign from the D9 chart as your ascendant in the birth chart and examine your birth chart. For example, the 10th house from the karakamsha sign as ascendant will show you the destiny of your career.

Ishtadevata – Jivanmuktamsha

Atmakaraka plays an important role in finding your Ishtadevata. The twelfth house from the karakamsha in your D9 chart is called the Jivanmuktamsha. If there is a planet in that house the deity related to that planet becomes your Ishtadevata if not look for the ruler of that house.

Ishta Devatas of various planets are given below: This is based on the incarnations of Lord Vishu.

  1. Sun – Lord Rama
  2. Moon – Lord Krishna
  3. Mars – Lord Narasimha
  4. Mercury – Lord Buddha
  5. Jupiter – Lord Vamana
  6. Venus – Lord Parashuram
  7. Saturn – Lord Kurma
  8. Rahu – Lord Varaha
  9. Ketu  – Lord Mathsaya

Here is a detailed report that you can order which will calculate it for you!

Atma Karaka (Soul Planet) Report