August 5th 2019 – Naga Panchami

Naga Panchami (Sanskrit: नाग पंचमी) is a traditional worship of snakes or serpents observed by Hindus. The worship is offered on the fifth day of the bright half of Lunar month of Shravana (July/August), according to the Hindu calendar and this year it falls on the 15th of August.

Local Timings

For local timings download the align27 app.

The abode of snakes is believed to be patala loka, (the seven realms of the universe located below the earth) and lowest of them is also called Naga-loka, the region of the Nagas, as part of the creative force and their blessings are sought for the welfare of the family.

According to mythology nagas were born to Sage Kashyapa, grandson of Lord Brahma. Kashyapa’s wife Aditi is the mother of the 12 Adityas who belong to the Deva clan. Kashyapa’s other wife Kadru is the daughter of Daksha and mother of thousands of nagas. So both the Devas and the Nagas have the same father and this signifies that both positive and negative energies coexist and it is within each one of us. All we have to do is to know how to subdue our poisonous nature and nurture the goodness within.

The significance of Naga Panchami

Nagas are mystical creatures full of wisdom and hidden treasures. If you have issues related to Rahu & Ketu like Kaal Sarpa dosha or sarpa dosha and if you are running Rahu or Ketu mahadasha/antar dasha it is highly effective to worship the Nagas, especially on Naga Panchmi.

By transit, we are going through Kaal Sarpa Dosha currently which means all planets are hemmed between Rahu and Ketu and this can throw things off balance. So Naga Panchami is a very important day to worship the Nagas and get their blessings to bring balance and prosperity into our lives.

Naga Panchami Rituals

  1. On the Naga Panchami day Naga, cobras, and snakes are worshipped with milk, sweets, flowers, lamps and even sacrifices. Images of Naga deities made of silver, stone, wood, or paintings on the wall are first bathed with water and milk and then worshipped with the reciting of the following mantra. “Nāga prītā bhavanti śāntimāpnoti bia viboh
    saśanti loka mā sādhya modate sasthitaḥ samaḥ” “नाग प्रीता भवन्ति शान्तिमाप्नोति बिअ विबोह्
    सशन्ति लोक मा साध्य मोदते सस्थित समः” which translates into Let all be blessed by the snake goddess, let everyone obtain peace
    Let all live peacefully without any turbulence.
  2. Strictly avoid Non-Vegetarian food and have a simple sattvic meal.
  3. Feed Sattvic food to people who are less fortunate than you.
  4. Worship Lord Ganesha with the mantra – “Aum Gam Ganapataye Namaha”. Lord Ganesha is the deity associated with Ketu.
  5. Worship Goddess Durga with the mantra – “Aum Dum Durgaye Namaha” as Goddess Durga is the deity associated with Rahu.
  6. Offer water, rice pudding, incense stick, lamp and flowers to Lord Vishnu as Lord Vishnu has the power to protect us from the evil effects of Rahu and Ketu. If you remember the story of Samudra Manthan, Lord Vishnu attacks the demon Svarbanuwith his Sudarshan Chakra and cuts him into Rahu and Ketu.
  7. Meditate on the picture of Lord Kubera with a mongoose. Mongoose is the only animal that can successfully defeat a snake. If you have Rahu/Ketu in the 2/8th axis in your horoscope it is highly recommended to have a picture of Lord Kubera (with mongoose) in your office.

For personalized rituals based on your own horoscope, download the align27 app.

The significance of Rahu and Ketu

Rahu Ketuaxis in our birth charts gives us very important clues about what our current life goals/desires are vs our past life merits/issues to be dealt with. As per Vedic astrology, Rahu and Ketu have an orbital cycle of 18 years and are always 180 degrees from each other orbitally (as well as in the birth charts). Rahu and Ketu are always 7 houses apart which means if Rahu is in the 1st house Ketu is always in the 7th, Rahu in 3rd will always put Ketu in the 9th. They are exactly opposite to each other, and to study their placement in our birth chart the sign they are in, the nakshatra they are in etc gives us a big clue about our life. There is always a swing between these 2 houses based on their placement in our birth chart.

In Hindu astrology, Ketu represents karmic collections both good and bad, spirituality and supernatural influences. Ketu signifies the spiritual process of the refinement of materialization to the spirit and is considered both malefic and benefic, as it causes sorrow and loss, and yet at the same time turns the individual to God. In other words, it causes material losses in order to force a more spiritual outlook in the person. Ketu is a karaka or indicator of intelligence, wisdom, non-attachment, fantasy, penetrating insight, derangement, and psychic abilities. Ketu is believed to bring prosperity to the devotee’s family, removes the effects of snakebite and illness arising out of poisons. He grants good health, wealth and cattle to his devotees. 

Ketu is considered responsible for moksha, sannyasa, self-realization, gnana, a wavering nature, restlessness, the endocrine system and slender physique.The people who come under the influence of Ketu can achieve great heights, most of them spiritual.

Rahu, being a karmic planet would show the necessity and urge to work on a specific area of life which has been ignored in the past life. To balance the apparent dissatisfaction one has to go that extra mile to provide a satisfactory settlement in the present lifetime.

To know more about how Rahu/Ketu axis influences you as per your birth chart you can order our personalized report here

You can also order our past life analysis consultation here.



  1. Amazing. Love this post, it is completely on point.i definitely need to balance! Haha

  2. Pingback: Spiritual Significance of Shravan Month - Cosmic Insights

  3. Please adjust your microphone or try an alternate microphone. This will remove the distortions and increase comprehension for English listeners.

Write A Comment