Carnatic music plays a great role in the field of Vedic Astrology. The 72 melakartha ragas are interwoven with the Nakshatras in the zodiac system.

The 72 melakarthas spread over all the 108 nakshatra padas are corresponding ragas meant to enhance and strengthen the particualar nakashatra of the native. To cover the entire zodiac system,each melakartha raga spreads over 5.00 degrees of the zodiac system.

The Rudriya Nakshatras (Ardra, Ashlesha, Mula, P & U Bhadrapada) benefit from listening to Bhairav Raag specifically. Ahir Bhairav is a Hindustani classical raga and the priase of vibrations is to Anantha Shesha and Hari (Vishnu).

Practice and listening to the required raag according to the chart not only enhances, strengthens and energises that particular nakshatra, any dosha in case of the nakshatra’s relationship to a malefic planet in the native’s chart is also effectively nullified.

The same may be applied to the principle of transit too, especially the padas where Saturn transits and the Nodes (Rahu-Ketu) transits.


Ashwini 1st pada – Kanakangi
Ashwini 2nd pada – Kanakangi, Rathnangi Ashwini 3rd pada – Rathnangi
Ashwini 4th pada – Ganamurthi

Bharani 1st pada – Ganamurthi, Vanaspathi Bharani 2nd pada – Vanaspathi
Bharani 3rd pada – Manavathi
Bharani 4th pada – Manavathi, Tanarupi

Krittika 1st pada – Tanarupi


Krittika 2nd pada – Senavathi
Krittika 3rd pada – Senavathi, Hanumathodi Krittika 4th pada – Hanumathodi

Rohini 1st pada – Dhenuka
Rohini 2nd pada – Dhenuka, Natakapriya Rohini 3rd pada – Natakapriya
Rohini 4th pada – Kokilapriya

Mrigashirsha 1st pada – Kokilapriya, Rupavathi Mrigashirsha 2nd pada – Rupavathi


Mrigashirsha 3rd pada – Gayakapriya
Mrigashirsha 4th pada – Gayakapriya, Vakula Bharanam

Ardra 1st pada – Vakula Bharanam
Ardra 2nd pada – Mayamalavagowla
Ardra 3rd pada – Mayamalavagowla, Chakravakam Ardra 4th pada – Chakravakam

Punarvasu 1st pada – Suryakantham
Punarvasu 2nd pada – Suryakantham, Hatakambari Punarvasu 3rd pada – Hatakamabari


Punarvasu 4th pada – Jhankaradhwani

Pushyami 1st pada – Jhankaradhwani, Natabhairavi Pushyami 2nd pada – Natabhairavi
Pushyami 3rd pada – Keeravani
Pushyami 4th pada – Keeravani, Kharaharapriya

Ashlesha 1st pada – Kharaharapriya
Ashlesha 2nd pada – Gowrimanohari
Ashlesha 3rd pada – Gowrimanohari, Varunapriya Ashlesha 4th pada – Varunapriya


Magha 1st pada – Mararanjani
Magha 2nd pada – Mararanjani, Charukesi Magha 3rd pada – Charukesi
Magha 4th pada – Sarasangi

Purva Phalguni 1st pada – Sarasangi, Harikambodhi Purva Phalguni 2nd pada – Harikambodhi
Purva Phalguni 3rd pada – Dheera Sankarabharanam

Purva Phalguni 4th pada – Dheera Sankarabharanam, Naganandini Uttara Phalguni 1st pada – Naganandini

Uttara Phalguni 2nd pada – Yagapriya
Uttara Phalguni 3rd pada – Yagapriya, Ragavardhini Uttara Phalguni 4th pada – Ragavardhini

Hastha 1st pada – Gangeyabhushani
Hastha 2nd pada – Gangeybhushani, Vagadheeswari Hastha 3rd pada – Vagadheeswari
Hastha 4th pada – Shoolini

Chittra 1st pada – Shoolini, Chalanata Chittra 2nd pada – Chalanata


Chitra 3rd pada – Salagam
Chitra 4th pada – Salagam, Jalarnavam

Swati 1st pada – Jalarnavam
Swati 2nd pada – Jhalavarali
Swati 3rd pada – Jhalavarali, Navaneetham Swati 4th pada – Navaneetham

Visakha 1st pada – Pavani
Visakha 2nd pada – Pavani, Raghupriya Visakha 3rd pada – Raghupriya


Visakha 4th pada – Gavambodhi

Anuradha 1st pada – Gavambodhi, Bhavapriya
Anuradha 2nd pada – Bhavapriya
Anuradha 3rd pada – Subhapantuvarali
Anuradha 4th pada – Subhapantuvarali, Shadvidamargini

Jyeshta 1st pada – Shadvidamargini Jyeshta 2nd pada – Suvarnangi
Jyeshta 3rd pada – Suvarnangi, Divyamani Jyeshta 4th pada – Divyamani


Moola 1st pada – Dhavalambari
Moola 2nd pada – Dhavalambari, Namanarayani Moola 3rd pada – Namanarayani
Moola 4th pada – Kamavardhini

Purva Ashadha 1st pada – Kamavardhini, Ramapriya Purva Ashadha 2nd pada – Ramapriya
Purva Ashadha 3rd pada – Gamanasrama
Purva Ashadha 4th pada – Gamanasrama, Viswambari

Uttara Ashadha 1st pada – Viswambari

Uttara Ashadha 2nd pada – Syamalangi
Uttara Ashadha 3rd pada – Syamalangi, Shanmukhapriya Uttara Ashadha 4th pada – Shanmukhapriya

Shravana 1st pada – Simhendramadhyamam
Shravana 2nd pada – Simhendramadhyamam, Hemavathi Shravana 3rd pada – Hemavathi
Shravana 4th pada – Dharmavathi

Dhanishta 1st pada – Dharmavathi, Neethimathi Dhanishta 2nd pada – Neethimathi

Dhanishta 3rd pada – Kanthamani
Dhanishta 4th pada – Kanthamani, Rishabhapriya

Shatabhisha 1st pada – Rishabhapriya Shatabhisha 2nd pada – Lathangi
Shatabhisha 3rd pada – Lathangi, Vachaspathi

Shatabhisha 4th pada – Vachaspathi

Purva Bhadrapada 1st pada – Mechakalyani
Purva Bhadrapada 2nd pada – Mechakalyani, Chitrambari Purva Bhadrapada 3rd pada – Chitrambari


Purva Bhadrapada 4th pada – Sucharitra

Uttara Bhadrapada 1st pada – Sucharitra, Jyothi Swaroopini

Uttara Bhadrapada 2nd pada – Jyothi Swaroopini
Uttara Bhadrapada 3rd pada – Dhatuvardini
Uttara Bhadrapada 4th pada – Dhatuvardini, Nasikabhooshani

Revati 1st pada – Nasikabhooshani Revati 2nd pada – Kosalam
Revati 3rd pada – Kosalam, Rasikapriya Revati 4th pada – Rasikapriya

According to the tables given above, one should take up the practice of the raga corresponding to one’s Moon or Lagna (ascendant) placed in a particular constellation, or a specific constellation connected to one’s Dasa Lord (by way of placement or ownership).

Such a practice of the required raag according to the chart not only enhances, strengthens and energises that particular nakshatra, any dosha in case of the nakshatra’s relationship to a malefic planet in the native’s chart is also effectively nullified.

The same may be applied to the principle of transit too. For example, the appeasement of Saturn during “Sade Sathi” or seven and a half years of Saturn transits over the 12H, 1H and 2H of your Moon Nakshatra, the seeker could render the corresponding raaga of whichever nakshatra Saturn is transiting or maybe placed in the natal chart reduce the malefic effects of Saturn.

Raaga reference: Smt. Veenai Gayathri’s Blog