During my time in Tamil Nadu, India, I had the extraordinary opportunity to explore local bookshops in search of precious astrology-related texts in Tamil. Among the numerous books and authors I encountered, one particular author captivated my attention: Siddha Yogi Siva Dasan Ravi.

In one of his books, he suggested a ritual capable of eliminating the doshas, or blemishes, caused by the influence of the nine planets. What makes this remedy truly remarkable is that it can be performed by anyone, anywhere.

This ancient ritual serves as a sacred means of purifying the negative influences and blemishes associated with planetary afflictions. 

Though deeply saddened by the loss of Siddha Yogi Siva Dasan Ravi, his profound wisdom lives on through the powerful remedies he left behind. May this ancient ritual serve as a beacon of hope and healing for those seeking to purify their lives from the blemishes caused by the nine planets.

In astrology, celestial events like full moons and new moons are believed to hold significant power and influence. The 15-day magical ritual discussed in this article aims to help us harness the energies of the planets and transform our lives. By following a series of steps from the full moon to the new moon, we can mitigate malefic planetary effects and strengthen our birth chart. This detailed guide will walk you through each step of the ritual, enabling you to embark on a transformative journey.

Step 1: Gathering the Nava Dhaniyams

On the day of the full moon, begin the ritual by obtaining a packet of Nava Dhaniyams. This mixture consists of nine grains symbolizing the nine planets. Hold a handful of these grains in your hand, ready to initiate the ritual.

Nava Dhaniyams

The Nava Dhanyams, also known as the Nine Grains, are associated with the nine planets in Vedic astrology. Each grain is connected to a specific planet and carries unique properties and energies. Here are the names of the Nava Dhanyams and their corresponding planetary associations:

  1. Wheat is offered to Sun or Surya
  2. Rice is offered to moon or Chandra or Soma
  3. Masoor Dal is offered to Mars or Mangal
  4. Green Gram is offered to Mercury or Budh
  5. Chickpea is offered to Jupiter or Guru or Brihaspati.
  6. White beans are offered to Venus or Shukra
  7. Black Sesame is offered to Shani or Saturn
  8. Black Gram is offered to Rahu
  9. Horse Gram is offered to Ketu

Step 2: Chanting Mantras and Circulating the Fist

With the Nava Dhaniyams in your hand, hold your fist in front of your eyes and start circling it around your head. Repeat this circular motion nine times, ensuring you return to the starting position. During each round, chant the corresponding mantra for each planet in the order of Sun, Moon, Mars, Mercury, Jupiter, Venus, Saturn, Rahu, and Ketu. By the end of the ninth round, you will have chanted the mantras for all nine planets.


ॐ सूर्याय नमः om suuryaaya namah
ॐ चंद्राय नमः om chandraaya namah
ॐ मंगलाय नमः om mangalaaya namah
ॐ बुधाय नमः om budhaaya namah
ॐ बृहस्पतये नमः om bRhaspataye namah
ॐ शुक्राय नमः om shukraaya namah
ॐ शनिश्चराय नमः om shanischaraaya namah
ॐ राहवे नमः om rahave namah
ॐ केतवे नमः om ketave namah

Step 3: Placing the Nava Dhaniyams

Once you have completed the fist-circling and mantra-chanting, transfer the Nava Dhaniyams into a new earthen pot. If an earthen pot is unavailable, you can use a vessel filled with mud as an alternative.

Step 4: Daily Water Circulation and Mantra Chanting

For the next 15 days, starting from the full moon until the following new moon, incorporate a daily practice. Before showering each day, hold a small cup of water in your hands and circle it around your head nine times. As you perform this action, chant the mantras for each planet in the same order as before. Once you have completed the nine circles, pour the water into the earthen pot.

Step 5: Repeating the Water Circulation

Repeat Step 4 consistently for 15 days, ensuring you perform the water circulation and mantra chanting ritual before your daily shower. This sustained practice helps build a connection with the planetary energies over the course of the lunar cycle.

Step 6: Final Day Ritual

On the last day of the 15-day ritual, adorn the earthen pot with turmeric and kumkum, traditional auspicious symbols. Pay homage to the pot by reciting the nine Navagraha mantras, expressing reverence and gratitude for the planetary forces that have been invoked.

Step 7: Circulating the Pot and Farewell

With the pot in your hands, circle it around your body nine times. This act symbolizes the integration of the planetary energies into your being. Afterward, proceed to a nearby river or lake (for an earthen pot) or an isolated place (for a non-earthen pot). Release the pot into the water or leave it at the designated location, bidding farewell to the accumulated energies.

Undertaking the 15-day magical ritual with unwavering devotion has the potential to alleviate the malefic effects of planetary influences and strengthen the planetary aspects within your birth chart. The saying “Andathil ullathellam pinndathil ullathu,” which translates to “what exists in the macrocosm exists in the microcosm,” emphasizes the interconnectedness of the universe and encourages us to trust the process. 

By committing to this ritual, you open yourself to the transformative power of planetary energies. For additional simple and practical rituals, consider booking a Vedic Life Coaching Consultation or downloading our book on Vedic Rituals and Remedies

Vedic Life Coaching & Remedies with Dr.Santhip Kanholy

Vedic Rituals & Remedies